The sovereign, the consort and the heir are the three Royal Governors and the Archbishop of Canterbury is the Archiepiscopal Governor. The sixteen Governors are the charity trustees and the Assembly of Governors is a body first formulated by Thomas Sutton on 22 June 1611. It meets three times a year and is assisted by a number of committees.

The Governors are patrons of ten Church of England livings, which are mostly places where Thomas Sutton owned property: two are in the Diocese of Lincoln, one in Norwich, three in Ely and four in Chelmsford.

Royal Governors

  • Her Majesty the Queen
  • His Royal Highness The Duke of Edinburgh
  • His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales

Archiepiscopal Governor

  • The Archbishop of Canterbury, The Most Reverend & Right Honourable Justin Welby MA


  • Duke of Norfolk
  • Michael Cassidy CBE
  • The Right Reverend & Right Honourable Richard Chartres KCVO DD FSA


  • Major General Andrew Ritchie CBE, Chairman
  • The Baroness Kay Andrews OBE
  • Timothy Boxell LLB
  • Caroline Cassels LVO RGN DMS
  • David Farnsworth
  • Dr Michael Harding MBBS MRCS LRCP DRCOG
  • Dr Clare Heath MA MBBS MRCGP
  • Peter Hodgson CBE FCA DL
  • Daniel Hodson MA FCT
  • Simon Kitching FRICS
  • Rebecca Munns
  • Wilf Weeks OBE

Keep up-to-date with our monthly newsletter

For the latest news, events and more,
sign up here